Back to school Beauty: San Juan edition

by : Katrina

Hello everyone! As I said on Manicure Monday I recently relocated to San Juan, Puerto Rico. I’m a Virgo- I just can’t keep still. I got tired of work, work, oh and more work (& New Jersey) so I decided to just get up, leave, and go back to school. Why Puerto Rico? Why not? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Coming from the hot NYC summer I figured the transition to the humid, rainy 90 degree weather everyday of PR would be a piece of cake but I was completely wrong.

1. my face freaked out – I have normal skin and never had problems with breakouts until I got here! It’s probably because of all the sweating. i know, gross.

2. Is there such thing as hair sun burn? because I definitely acquired that here.

3. I feel like I’m getting darker and darker by the second. Sun block has become part of my daily regimen for my entire body! (I don’t want to come back looking like a leather bag) same goes for OFF bug spray ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

4. Last but definitely not least: Make-up. I’m limited to cool lipstick, mascara, little blush, and eyeliner if I’m lucky. Foundation or anything else? It’s just too hot for all that!

With the help of:

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Mosturizer SPF 30– Aveeno Daily moisturizer was too heavy and thick for me in this heat. This moisturizer is for acne prone skin, absorbs quickly to restore your skinโ€™s natural balance, and provide a non-greasy, matte finish.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-touch Sunscreen – SPF 70- the sun is real out here! This is my favorite sunblock so far. It’s super light weight and smells like baby lotion.

Aveeno Calming Body Wash– showering 3x/day, sunblock, and bug spray can definitely dry out your skin so bars of soap are out of the question for me. This creamy lather moisturizes my skin and is enriched with natural ingredients known for their calming benefits.

Shea Moisture Deep Masque -weekly for my sun burnt hair (product review in previous post :P)

I think I’m back to school ready!

Here is a slide show of some of my daily looks! enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyone have suggestions on lightweight foundations with SPF? something that can withstand this heat!

2 Comments

Filed under Drug Store Gem, Hair, Makeup, Natural, Scavenger Hunt, Skin, Splurge, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Back to school Beauty: San Juan edition

  1. Andrea M.

    After reading your concerns with the brutal heat in San Juan one of my favorite products came to mind that might be a great option for you to try out. The Tarte BB tinted treatment 12- hour Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen came to mind. This was one of my go to products when the heat was making its way into the beginning of summer and I had great results. Tarte products are all natural and this product also has skin care benefits in it which is a plus. Like you my skin can get very oily especially in the heat and what I love about this is that it has a really smooth matte finish (which I love!) but it doesn’t make me look so powdery. It’s kind of a two in one where you can use it alone n get an amazing natural coverage for that no makeup make up look or you can use it as a regular primer under your desired foundation. Great for traveling if you want to eliminate some products. I’d say give it is try, you might become a fan! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. good details, thanks a lot. have you are able to check out the muck head of hair data?

what's up?

