Review: Josie Maran Cleansing Oil

By: Sam

Hey Beauties! If you guys follow us on Instagram @thirteenthandhudson or on Twitter: @13thandhudson, you’ll know that I received a gift set by Josie Maran as a belated birthday/graduation gift:

photo (15)

Although I was not expecting to get this, I was excited because I am really interested in exploring the world of cleansing oils. Josie Maran’s Cleansing Oil ($12, $32) is designed for all skin types and contains argan oil, almond, safflower seed, and grape oils which help gently cleanse and rejuvenate the skin. Argan oil is the main ingredient in Josie Maran’s products which contains Vitamin E and essential fatty acids that help with skin issues such as, hyper-pigmentation, dehydration, inflammation, and the excess production of sebum (ideal for blemish prone skin). After cleansing skin is left clean and hydrated without oily residue and without drying the skin. I don’t know about you but the thought of cleansing oils worries me; how could an oil possibly succeed as a cleanser? I’ve tried everything from gel, foam, and cream cleansers so it couldn’t hurt to “test the oils” right? Well there was only one way to find out, so I decided to give it a try:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Josie Maran’s Cleansing Oil was indeed a success! My favorite thing about the cleanser is that the oil heats up as you rub your hands together and while massaging your face, you feel and see the oil breaking up the makeup and dirt off your face. My skin felt so clean yet incredibly soft and radiant. For all you fellow oil-phobes: no greasy feel and no oily residue! You are left with what you look for in a cleanser: A clean slate :).

PS- I have also used the two other products (Josie Maran’s Argan Oil & Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 40) and am a big supporter of them.

Tell us! What is your experience with oil based beauty products?

9 Comments

Filed under Natural, Skin, Splurge

9 responses to “Review: Josie Maran Cleansing Oil

  1. I think I may have said this already, but I love them. Depending on my skin needs I’ll use a serum/oil straight or mixed with a light moisturizer.

    • Whether using them alone or incorporating oils in one’s skincare routine, I think oils are here to stay, right? I think people just fear that it will break them out or their skin will have a negative reaction to it, but we love them as well. xx

  2. I heard good things about this one, too! Have you tried the MAC Cleanse Off Oil?

  3. I am a huge fan of Josie Maran’s Argan oil – especially the cleansing oil. It feels incredibly luxurious and I find it really deep cleans. This very post has got me hooked – I’ll be catching up on the rest of your blogs. πŸ™‚

  4. I got my sister a Josie Maran gift set last Christmas and she now blames me for her expensive beauty taste – she loved all the products so much she can’t stop buying them! Guess there is something in the Argan oil πŸ˜‰

  5. I’m pro cleansing oil : ) I’ve not heard of Josie Maran before but I’ll have to look out for it when my current cleansing oil runs out πŸ™‚

what's up?

