Let’s Discuss – Curl Creams

ATTENTION ALL CURLS!:
Katrina and I (Sam), have experienced some high and lows when it comes to maintaining our curly hair. Sometimes it feels like your hair has a mind of its own and cooperates when it wants to. Why?!

Photo Credit to SleekHair.com, MoroccanOil.com, and Sephora.com; respectively.

Photo Credit to SleekHair.com, MoroccanOil.com, and Sephora.com; respectively.

Maintaining the perfect curls comes with the never ending search for the perfect curl cream. Ideally we all want bouncy, soft, healthy looking curls (that smells great too), but it is often more complicated than not. The issue I have with styling my hair is that I feel like although I love certain curl creams, I have to resort to a dysfunctional “break up to make up” relationship with them.

For example: During warmer weather I use Moroccan Oil’s Intense Curl Cream (Available at MoroccanOil.com; $33.40) and it worked amazingly. I usually distribute it in my hair layer by layer; twirl, scrunch, and let air dry. However, as soon as the wintry weather settles in, it just stops working; leaving my hair greasy yet dry and droopy. I was presented with a less expensive alternative called, One ‘N Only Argan Oil Curl Cream, (Available at SleekHair.com; $11.99) but I found it too intense, weighed my hair way down.

Then, I went to sephora and purchased Bumble & Bumble’s Calming Curl Cream (Available at Sephora.com; $29.00). Same thing happened, worked great for a while but then my hair looked really dry after a month of so. What gives? Is this a small piece to a larger problem? Do I need a curly hair maintenance makeover?

So as Katrina and I venture out to find the next curl cream to try, we want to hear from you. We are aware that what has worked and not worked for us, may have worked for you. We are curious as to what your curly hair management routine sounds like as well as your recommendation of curl creams! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Let’s Discuss – Curl Creams

  1. My curls have been giving me issues well… my whole life. I went through an extra crunch unhealthy chonga phase (as you ladies know) through my high school days, but the stiffness was not cute at all! Thank GOD I got over that horrendous hair style, and have been experimenting with healthy hair creams that make my curls feel pretty, neat, and put together. I got this tip from the Mixed Chicks Facebook page, and I was skeptical at first but not always using shampoo and mostly using only conditioner totally works and leaving a little bit in is even better. If it is daytime and I am on the go with my wet locks I apply a simple Olive Oil Oil Moisturizing Hair Lotion (estimated maybe $8.00 or less at a Duane Reade Walgreens etc) that I work into the scalp. My new obsession is Carol’s Daughter Original Hair Milk, which you can find at Sephora for $28.00. It is so good, and is specifically for curls. I scrunch and twist with that. For another amazing cheaper alternative I use Motions Salon Haircare Hydrate My Curls Pudding. You can also find this at a local CVS or Walgreens, but I couldn’t tell you the price. If it is night time and nothing special is happening sometimes a few not so attractive small twists and braids take place. I am happy with this routine even though I have a riskier very short hair cut. I still have my hair long on the top and I am pleased with what happiness these products bring to my locks.

  2. i think we all went through the crunchy curl phase lol back when we thought gel was the only hair product ever made. thanks for all the product info! we will definitely give them a try- thanks a million for reading and following as well!!!

  3. Tykeya

    I struggle with this as well. My issue is that have THREE types of curly hair because becomes an absolutely nightmare because they are never working in accordance with each other. But I have noticed the more conditioners I use the less products I need after. However, I am still in search for the perfect product to keep my hair awesome. I try these products. Btw. Love the site. 😀

  4. Alina

    I have recently started using Miss Jessie’s products.. I purchased at Ricky’s.. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a product I wasn’t sure about so I bought the small jars for $7.99.. I must say that so far the best one for me is Pillow Soft Curls it doesn’t come in a small jar but a big tube for $22.00. My hair is on the thin side so I really only need like two quarter size amounts and I work it through really well.. It smells fantastic and leaves your curls well defined and pillow soft!!

    • Sounds amazing! I am definitely going to be on the lookout for that product. I traded in my Moroccan Oil Intense Curl Cream ($33) for Dark & Lovely’s Au Naturale (anti-shrinkage) Coil Moisturizing Souffle (For tight curls and coils) and it is only 10.88. I hope this is the one. But thanks for your Plan B. 🙂 *Dark and Lovely also makes a curl cream for looser curls as well. 😉

what's up?