#ManicureMonday – Madison Ave-hue Edition

20130318-131136.jpg

On today’s mani-menu is “Madison Ave-Hue”, a dazzling magenta shade from Essie’s Spring 2013 collection. I saw this color in my local Walgreens (yes I said Walgreens!) and was immediately unimpressed. I’ve never had much luck with any sparkly colors in the past. Sparkly colors often 1. Have a weird consistency 2. Look way girlier than I actually am (lol) but when I decided to get a “Castaway” pedi, I knew I needed a complimentary pink. (Also, my last Bubble Bath by OPI mani was certainly sleek and classy but left me craving some color in my life!)

The result: a sparkly finish 🙂

What’s your go to mani color? I’m a marshmallow by Essie girl myself.

Sound off in the comments below!

Salon: QQ Nails & Spa
119 E. 23st
(212) 995 – 2119

Price: $10 mani only (That’s a steal!) $25 mani/pedi

Manicurist: Jin

Perks about this place: affordable and they’re open late!

2 Comments

Filed under Drug Store Gem, Nails

2 responses to “#ManicureMonday – Madison Ave-hue Edition

  1. Justene Adolphus

    Since this was at home, what top coat polish did you use? I have trouble finding a good one that doesn’t have dirt stick to it. Maybe that’s only my problem. I find the Essie one, that doesn’t have all the vitamins, to be sticky.

    • Hey Justene!

      The manicure was done at a salon. Jin (the manicurist) used an Essie top coat but I totally feel what you’re saying–the stickiness is horrible! I’ve found that OPI carries better options for Top Coats. I have yet to try them all but as soon as I find one I love I’ll be sure to share! Thanks for reading! -Kim

what's up?

